You are here

Overview of the Federal Court System

The federal courts are divided into three levels; the United States Supreme Court, The United States Courts of Appeals, and the United States District Courts.

The United States District Court for the Eastern District of Oklahoma encompasses the twenty six counties of  Adair, Atoka, Bryan, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Coal, Haskell, Hughes, Johnston, Latimer, Le Flore Love, McCurtain, McIntosh, Marshall, Murray, Muskogee, Okfuskee, Okmulgee, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pushmataha, Seminole, Sequoyah, and Wagoner.  

Appeals from this Court go the the United States District Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit and then to the United States Supreme Court.

The Administrative Office of the U.S. Courts has created a website providing basic information about the Federal Court System.